Help needed…

Looking for some advice about the scenario matrix – I’ve been looking at the marking rubric for the overall assignment and it’s made me pull my head out of storyland and get back to the real world a bit….easy to go off on a storywriting tangent!  🙂

Firstly, I’m not sure whether to use as my issue:

–           What will assessment look like in 2030?    OR

–           ‘What will education look like in 2030?’ and to then explore assessment within that.
What would you recommend?

In terms of the axis for my matrix, I’m planning to have one which is to do with centralized control vs learner choice (prosumer)…..very similar to the axis on the Knowledgeworks matrix.

For the other axis I have three ideas and I’m confused about which to go with:

  1. I was thinking of having ‘what is the knowledge worth knowing?’, and having ‘content with an undertone of skills’ vs ‘competencies with an undertone of content.’ But does this give enough scope? Or is it too narrow? I’ve brainstormed each of the quadrants (lots of fun!) but not sure if it fits within ‘plausible’ and has a clear enough interplay with trends.
  2. Another option I’ve been brainstorming is ‘technology high impact….technology low impact’. If I were doing this then obviously my issue would have to be looking at assessment in 2030, as it’s a given that tech will play a big role in education in 2030. But do you also think that it’s a given technology will play a role in assessment?
  3. The final idea in my head is to do with ‘individualistic vs community’ 

Don’t know if this makes sense…definite stream of consciousness! Feedback appreciated  🙂

Hmmm….a few hours later and a few more thoughts later – how much does this assignment have to tie in to our research topic? Ie. do I have to consider assessment here, as that’s what I’m doing my research topic on. Or is this completely stand alone?

m

6 thoughts on “Help needed…

  1. Hi Phillipa,
    Assessment in the future is an uncertainty I think. Maybe competency vs standardised. I am not too sure but will keep thinking.

    • Hey Darren, thanks for your feedback.That’s a interesting idea – I hadn’t thought of having assessment itself as the uncertainty!

  2. Hi Philipa, I think if you go with “education” by focusing on assessment does not do justice to eachother. I think if you want to focus on the assessment side role with option one then finalise and if need be reword your possible axis. Just my thinking. Goodluck

    • Hey Aaron, thanks for sharing this thought! It’s a good comment you make about not being able to do either justice if I cast my net too wide. I find I keep wanting to write about ‘education’ in the scenarios when I’m doing the storyline stuff though! Hmmm….more thinking to be done! Thanks!! 🙂

  3. Quick comment – -There is no requirement for your scenarios to tie in with your research topic. If it does, that’s great because you will be exploring your research topic from another dimension. But if your research topic doesn’t fit with the scenario matrix — that’s fine. Go with what interests you on this one.

    In the assessment – -we’re evaluating how you applied the methodology, not the content your selected.

  4. I think its more important to look at education as assessment functions on many levels depending on what yo want from it.Traditionally it ranked people as we moved from hierarchies to ostensibly meritocracies – but actually the hierarchies were replicated in the assessment eg Greek in SC was rated far higher than Maori because of the cohort of subject choices that surrounded it and ongoing institutional racism. Assessment functioned to exclude women, poor and Maori while giving lip service and the illusion of societal mobility and advancement to placate the masses but reify and reinforce the hierarchies. For employers it was easier to pick workers like you. For students it was a badge a passport and acknowledgement or a stigma, block and rejection by school and society. It was useful for universities to pick winners and stream for subject and career success.It offered teachers principals schools and politicians the opportunity to create league tables of success and failure to justify funding to market areas and schools to reinforce racism and social darwinism It justified oppression, apartheid and patriarchy, Today in NCEA it is useful as a basis to reward teachers with high student pass rates and castigate those who dont get high grades. It functions as job potential indicator and a carer sorting device. In each lab in each classroom in each staff room teacher interpret differently the rules, schedules, schemes to maximize the grades and pass rates of their students. it is not objective fair or just – to repeat it in the future is in my humble opinion folly so focus on education for assessment just measures social, political,cultural and racists heirarchization.

Leave a Reply

