New Beginnings

A quick note to all SP4ED participants….below is a little intro to me and my experience with setting up a blog for my Canterbury University Masters course, of which our MOOC is a part. I’m looking forward to interacting with you all over the next few days in a virtual world of inspiration and ideas!

Phillipa   🙂  

Hey all,

So here is a belated first post! After just having returned from a yoga teacher training course in Thailand I’m a little behind the 8-ball in terms of being on top of things this week (and more than a little cold!).

I’m Phillipa (or Pippa – whichever you prefer!)…….

festy foot

…..and I love to play!

I have to admit, I’ve started a few blogs in my life and haven’t really fallen in love with any of them. Yes, this is my way of saying they’ve fallen by the wayside and are just floating around aimlessly in cyberspace. Even bringing my family in on one didn’t help. So I’m quite looking forward to having to keep a blog for this course and I’m interested to see whether I prefer it to the Moodle forums. I initially tried using Blogger and spent a frustrated evening trying to stretch a particular picture so it would work as a background image. Should have given up and just gone with a regular template, I know, but instead I had a little hissy fit and switched to WordPress instead, forgetting the whole idea of using my own background image.

So far, WordPress has been pretty good to use although I haven’t explored a lot in the settings yet. I have, however, created another blog that I’ve wanted to do for a loooooong time so appreciate the kick up the backside that creating a blog for our course has given me.

What would I like to achieve with this blog? Well, firstly I’d like to actually have a blog that I follow through with! And I’d also like to have a clear document of my learning, thinking, conversing, reflecting etc – something I can come back to, with useful research links (maybe using the delicious widget) and that may prove useful to others somewhere, somehow.

You can read all about me here. I’m off to play in the wonderful world of widgets and settings. Looking forward to working with and learning from you all during this course – my weekend reading is going to be all of your intro blogposts! Really great to see some familiar faces from last year too. 😀

Happy Thursday!

5 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. Hi Pippa — Remember to add the EDEM630 tag to your post. You will find a tag field in the edit view. We need this to harvest your post for the course feed.

    • Hi Wayne,

      Thanks for your feedback. I thought I did this, but it was without caps. Does that matter?

      • Nope — lower case should be fine and I see that your post was harvested. All good.

      • A further refinement to my answer. Use Uppercase “EDEM630” — we are planning to experiment with technologies where case sensitivity is important.

  2. Thanks Wayne….did you see my comment in the new post regarding caps? 🙂

Leave a Reply

